The Team

Ernesto Cuicapuza

Curious and adventurous, I left Peru when I was 20 years old. My first stop was Astrachan (Russia) where I got a scholarship for studies in Naval Architecture Engineering.

 

The situation of radical change in Russia during the 1990s brought me to Germany in 1994 where I met my wife Nicole. Shortly after we got married, our daughter Mailina was born and three years later our son Jairo. We decided to stay in Germany and I finished my studies in engineering at the FH Mannheim. As a mechanical engineer, I was working for 13 years in the sector of nuclear technology.

 

As a student I started to develop a particular interest in racing bikes. Since 2007, I have been investing a lot of time in building new mountain bikes and in restoring racing bikes of high quality with steel frames.

 

Not only was I fascinated by the handicraft itself but also by the exceptional properties of racing bikes and the athletic challenge that comes with it. With some of these bikes I successfully and regularly participate in sports events:

- Triathlon (Olympic distance) in Ladenburg, Heidelberg and Viernheim

- Half-Ironman in Kraichgau in 2010

- Annual bike-riding ritual of father and son (on racing bikes with luggage):

  • 2014: Bike tour from Heidelberg to Saint Marie de la Mer, 1070 km in 7 riding days
  • 2015: Bike tour from Heidelberg to Pisa, 1480 km in 11 riding days
  • 2016: Bike tour from Heidelberg to Den Haag, 870 km in 6 riding days
  • 2017: 2017: Bike tour from Heidelberg to Luzern, 370 km in 4 riding days

 

Jairo Cuicapuza

For as long as I can remember I have been riding a bicycle. In the beginning, it served me as a mere means of transport. Then I got inspired by my father and started cycling. Over the years, I have been developing a deeper relation to „my trusty bike“.

 

Sports and handicraft have always been my passion. In the context of a one-year-project, being a student in 12th grade of a Rudolf Steiner School in Germany, I decided to design, then build, and finally present a wooden bicycle.

 

I have planned and designed over a long period of time until I finally created the model De La Hoja (Spanish for „of the leaf“) – the prototype of today’s QiruBike!

Das Team

Ernesto Cuicapuza

Neugierig und abenteuerfreudig verließ ich Peru im Alter von 20 Jahren. Meine erste Station war Astrachan (Russland), wo ich ein Stipendium für ein Schiffsbaustudium bekommen hatte.

 

Die Umbruchsituation in Russland der neunziger Jahre brachte mich im Sommer 1994 nach Deutschland. Dort lernte ich meine Frau Nicole kennen. Kurze Zeit später kam unsere Tochter Mailina und drei Jahre später unser Sohn Jairo zur Welt. Wir entschieden in Deutschland zu bleiben und ich beendete mein Studium als Maschinenbauingenieur an der FH-Mannheim. Anschließend arbeitete ich 13 Jahre als Maschinenbauingenieur in der Kerntechnik.

 

Ich entwickelte bereits als Student eine besondere Beziehung zu Rennrädern. Seit 2007 beschäftigte ich mich intensiv mit dem Zusammenbau von neuen Mountainbikes und der Restauration von hochwertigen Rennrädern mit Stahlrahmen.

 

Neben der handwerklichen Arbeit, faszinierten mich die außergewöhnlichen Eigenschaften diese Rennrädern und deren sportliche Herausforderung. Mit einigen dieser Rennmaschinen nehme ich regelmäßig erfolgreich an sportlichen Ereignissen teil:

- Triathlon (olympische Distanz) in Ladenburg, Heidelberg und Viernheim

- Halb-Ironman im Kraichgau im Jahr 2010

- Jährliches Fahrradritual (Fahrradtour mit Rennrädern und Gepäck) von Vater und Sohn:

  • 2014: Fahrradtour von Heidelberg bis Saint Marie de la Mer, 1070 km in 7 Fahrtagen
  • 2015: Fahrradtour von Heidelberg bis Pisa, 1480 km in 11 Fahrtagen
  • 2016: Fahrradtour von Heidelberg bis Den Haag, 870 km in 6 Fahrtagen
  • 2017: Fahrradtour von Heidelberg bis Luzern, 370 km in 4 Fahrtagen

 

Jairo Cuicapuza

Seit ich denken kann bin auf dem Fahrrad unterwegs gewesen. Zunächst stellte es für mich ein reines Fortbewegungsmittel dar, später jedoch kam ich über meinen Vater zum Radsport und entwickelte ein innigeres Verhältnis zum „Drahtesel“.

 

Sport und Handwerk zählten schon früh zu meinen Leidenschaften. Als Schüler einer Waldorfschule in der 12. Klasse bekam ich die Aufgabe, ein Projekt auszusuchen, welches über das gesamte Schuljahr hinweg bearbeitet und schließlich präsentiert wurde. Im Zuge dessen entstand die Idee, ein Holz Fahrrad zu bauen.

 

Es wurde viel geplant und entworfen, bis schließlich das De La Hoja (Spanisch für „aus dem Blatt“) design entwickelt wurde – das Prototyp des heutigen QiruBike!